Happy Holidays, Where’s the Tylenol?

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Getting Seasonal.”

The holiday season: can’t get enough of it, or can’t wait for it all to be over already? Has your attitude toward the end-of-year holidays changed over the years?

When I was a kid of course I absolutely couldn’t wait for the holidays to come, Christmas was practically a count down to the best day in the world.

I got older, things were changing, my family was changing, and I was certainly changing. The so called “holiday joy” wasn’t exactly as joyous as I remembered it being. As the years went by I just expected less and less from every one.

I’m in college and I do still love the end of year holidays, with my long winter break after the semester how could I complain about it? It’s just that the holidays are less exciting. Christmas is just opening up a few gifts, eat some food, and that’s basically it. New year’s is stay up til midnight for the big event, wish everyone a happy new year with hugs, drink a little, and that’s it.

My family is kind of old I guess so we don’t expect to do so much. So mostly now, I guess you can say, it’s not the holidays that I can’t get enough of, it’s the relaxing break that I can’t get enough of.

Leave a Reply

