The summer song

We all have songs that remind us of specific periods and events in our lives. Twenty years from now, which song will remind you of the summer of 2014?

Not Going Back- Childish Gambino

The reason for this song being the summer song of 2014 is that recently I’ve been going through some changes and it really affected me emotionally and mentally. Childish Gambino is one of my favorite rappers and hearing this song really reflected what I thought about with all these changes in my life and that I didn’t want to go back to being miserable and unhappy and feel like a failure and keep blaming myself and always feel guilty. This summer I’ve been self-healing and learning to deal with issues positively for myself. Here’s a lyric that I feel best captures what I want people to know:

Please tell me you don’t want me to fail ’cause I’m not going back. I refuse to go back to not liking who I was.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/musical-marker/

Leave a Reply

