Middle seat: Let’s hurry with the small talk.

It turns out that your neighbor on the plane/bus/train (or the person sitting at the next table at the coffee shop) is a very, very chatty tourist. Do you try to switch seats, go for a non-committal brief small talk, or make this person your new best friend?

I would go for a non-committal brief small talk with the tourist. I’d only lightly chat just to not be rude, but I’d definitely try to end the conversation very shortly as soon as it begins. I don’t really like to make small talk with strangers. I’m awkward, talking to a chatty stranger is awkward to me, I don’t like to be put in awkward situations. I’m an introvert, as soon as I give my short answers to whatever it is that we talk about, I’m out. I’ll put on my ear phones and listen to music to not be bothered anymore. Sorry, but that’s just me. Introvert 4 life. http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/middle-seat/

Leave a Reply

